Doubting Allen Presents

Daydreams and Nightmares

I’ve never been able to find that perfect balance between talking about a game while not delving too much into describing, especially coming from someone who prioritises narrative and world-building over plot and gameplay. Although the mechanics can be important when discussing the game’s narrative and creative direction, those seem to be reserved for either really excellent games like Darkest Dungeon, Dishonoured and Papers, Please where it is impossible to seperate the two components, or really poor ones like Valiant Hearts where the mechanics break the entire gaming experience. For everything else in between, it always turns out to be way too long and I can never seem to get to the point until the very end. And the worst part it they seem to lose their soul and I get really bored when all I am doing is explaining stuff. Inspired text is always more enjoyable to write, and I’m getting more exciting to read too.

I am going to be experimenting with a new format by splitting reviews into two.

The first kind, titled Daydreams, will be nonsensical reviews that discuss more about how the game made me feel, how well the mechanical and narrative aspects work together and other disgressions that are inspired by playing the game. In may case Daydreams may not even be reviews, I just type out the words that appear in my head during and after I play the game, and honestly those have been my favourite reviews to write – check out my Darkest Dungeon review on my old blog: http://uncleallen.blogspot.sg/2016/04/darkest-dungeon-life-too-is-game-of.html.

Nightmares on the other hand, as the name suggests, are long descriptive pieces where I’d mostly explain how the game works, the setting and plot that it runs in, and everything else that feels like it should be there to make things clearer in the Daydream version of the review, but makes it too long and uncomfortable to read. Think of it as an addendum, a companion piece. I may just not bother with the Nightmare pieces if there is no need to.

As a personal rule, I’ll try to keep Daydreams under 1000 words because I can get real long-winded and some of that crap should be dumped into Nightmares honestly. The nice, creative titles to allude to Daydreams and Nightmares in the Workemon reviews will not be a recurring thing, it just happens to turn out that way.

Leave a Reply

